• 1608 W 22nd St Houston, TX 77008
  • Mon - Fri: 8:00 AM – 6:00 PM


Book your appointment now and get $5 discount.

Call us at
(713) 269-5596
Download BrochureDownload Summary

Phone: (713) 269-5596

1608 W 22nd St
Houston, TX 77008

Monday – Friday 8:00 AM – 6:00 PM
Saturday 8:30 AM – 4:00 PM


Vehicles registered in Texas are required to pass an annual auto inspection to ensure compliance with state law and safety standards. While safety inspections are required throughout the state, emissions testing is required of vehicles inspected in Harris County to comply with federally mandated clean air requirements. DPS. NW Houston Auto Repair is licensed by the DPS and Official Vehicle Inspection Station conveniently located in the Houston Heights.

Texas - Two Steps, One Sticker

In 2013, Texas legislature eliminated the inspection sticker resulting in a single-sticker system and makes vehicle registration dependent on obtaining a passing vehicle inspection. You will receive a Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) instead of an inspection sticker.

Inspection Costs

Inspection Type Amount You Pay At Station
One-Year Safety $7.00
Two-Year Safety (new vehicles) $7.00
Commercial $40.00
Trailer / Motorcycle $7.00
Moped $0.25
Safety Emissions (DFW/Houston) $25.50
Emissions-only vehicles (DFW/Houston) $18.50

What’s Inspected

Inspect Every Passenger Car For: (Listed in suggested order of inspection)

* Check for evidence of Financial Responsibility (Insurance Coverage)

  • Horn
  • Windshield Wipers
  • Mirror
  • Steering
  • Seat Belts
  • Brakes (system) (Parking – beginning with 1960 models)
  • Tires
  • Wheel Assembly
  • Exhaust System
  • Exhaust Emission System (beginning with 1968 models)
  • Beam Indicator (beginning with 1948 models)
  • Tail Lamps (2); (1) if 1959 model or earlier
  • Stop Lamps (3) 1986 and newer; (2) if 1960-1985; (1) if 1959 model or earlier 14. License Plate Lamp (1)
  • Rear Red Reflectors (2)
  • Turn Signal Lamps (beginning with 1960 models)
  • Head Lamps (2)
  • Motor, Serial, or Vehicle Identification Number
  • Gas caps on vehicles 2-24 model years old
  • Window Tint.

New to Texas? Here’s what you need to know:

Vehicle registration and inspection are separate processes. The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) oversees vehicle registration and the Department of Public Safety (DPS) supervises the vehicle inspection program.

  • New residents are required to do the following within 30 days of moving to Texas:
    • Get a vehicle inspection
    • Register and title their vehicle
  • The vehicle must pass inspection before it can be registered and titled.
  • Both the registration and inspection process requires proof of financial responsibility.

Texas has both a safety inspection program and an emissions (I/M) program. If you present your vehicle for inspection in one of the emissions counties it will receive a safety and emissions test.


© Northwest Houston Auto Repair. All Rights Reserved.